Sheffield Design Awards 2016

Call for entries now open

We are delighted to announce the Call for Entries is now open for the biennial Sheffield Design Awards, celebrating design excellence in architecture and the built environment in and around Sheffield.

Established in 2008, this year the Design Awards have united with Sheffield Design Week (21st-30th October) to form a key event as part of the week of celebration of design excellence across the city region.

Entries are now open and will close on 27th June 2016. Full details can be found on the Entry Form.

The Design Awards ceremony will take place on 26th October 2016 in the Head Post Office building in Fitzalan Square, the new home of the Sheffield Institute of Arts at Sheffield Hallam University.

Awards will be given to buildings and open spaces that have high architectural standards and make a substantial contribution to the local environment. The categories are: 

Outstanding Project of the Year Award – Overall prize winner
Conservation Award
• Small Project Award
• Contribution to Open Spaces Award
• Best Building Award
• Housing / Residential Award

There are also two other awards which run alongside the Sheffield Design Awards: 

The People’s Choice: Voted for by the public for their favourite iconic building. Further details of this award and online voting will follow soon.

The Keith Hayman Award for the outstanding contribution to cycling or public art in Sheffield.

Nominations are taken from those submitted for the Awards above and are judged by the Trustees of Sheffield Civic Trust.
Thank you to our sponsors, without which, the Awards could not go ahead. This year’s headline sponsor is NHBC, the UK’s leading standard-setting body and provider of warranty and insurance for new homes. The event sponsors are: Nabarro, Taylor Maxwell, Arup, Silcock Leedham and Minerva Appointments.

For further details about the Awards, please contact Jamie Wilde or download the Sheffield Design Awards 2016 Entry Form

DESIGN AWARD ARCHIVES: 2014 / 2012 / 2010 / 2008